## WILL'S CORNER

## Dear ULC Members:

In this month's newsletter I'll be addressing four topics:

1. Currently the Council members include:

Will Salz - President
Dick Shirley - Vice President
Art & Lynn Becker
Darren Gest
Julie Hamaide

Ken Overturf - replacing Blake Peterson - to be approved by the Council

Nick Cota - LCM representative

Alex Korvan - LCM representative.

Besides needing a secretary, the Council could use a few more members. So if you have a passion to help this church community move forward, please contact me or a Council member.

- 2. Ruth Wootten has graciously volunteered to chair a Stewardship Committee. She would appreciate some help. Please read her article in this newsletter.
- 3. In last month's newsletter I commented on the need for exterior paint of both the Church and Campus Center. That article spelled out the cost for painting the trim on both buildings as well as the entrance sign. This cost included major work on the wood pergola on the south and east sides of the Campus Center.

Also, I had received a bid to replace the pergola with a structure that included sunscreen and bids on sunscreen shade structures by the grill and Church entrance. In the past month I had two other companies quote prices for these three areas. The quotes I received for an  $18' \times 18'$  permanently mounted single post structure range from \$6,000 to \$9,000 each.

At the August 5 Property Committee meeting it was decided that, to be fiscally responsible, the sunscreen structures should be put on hold for at least a year. We need to fix structural issues before spending money on our "Wish List". We agreed to go ahead with the painting; I contacted the painter on August 7 to get us into his queue. He is projecting late October to do the trim painting.

4. A big THANK YOU to all who contributed to the tree trimming effort. A scaled-down version of Phase 2 is being worked on by Art and Lynn Becker.

Thank you all for your support. If you have any questions, please contact me.

Respectfully, Will Salz, Council President